Primary Election: Washington Twp. Voting Guide

The ballot boxes open at 6 a.m. Tuesday – Find out what you need to know here.

It’s that time of year again, when candidates vie to grab a spot on the November election ballot by first winning the June Primary Election.

Locally two three-year seats on the Washington Township Committee are up for grabs, but only two candidates have thrown their respective hats into the ring.

Seeking reelection is James LiaBraaten, currently in the final year of his first term. Also running is first-time candidate Don Babb, a former Washington Township Department of Public Works employee

Babb planned on running this year regardless of opponent, but quickly realized he’d be running unopposed when current committeeman David Kennedy announced he would not seek reelection.

Kennedy is in the final year of his first term. He was the top vote-getter in a three-man race in November 2010, along with LiaBraaten and Democrat Rich Welch.

The Washington Township Democratic Committee has made no announcement about supporting a write-in candidate in this year’s Primary Election, as they’ve done in the past.

Regionally Republicans have dominated the headlines as a slew of contenders seek a seat on the Morris County Board of Chosen Freeholders.

Running for the three open three-year freeholder seats are incumbents Douglas Cabana of Boonton Township, an attorney and Thomas Mastrangelo of Parsippany, a business executive; Kathy DeFillippo of Roxbury, deputy mayor; Stephen DeHart of Pequannock, a business owner; and Barbara Eames of Hanover, former school board member and current Maplewood teacher.

The winners will face the winners of a Democratic primary that drew four candidates: Donald Cresitello and Roger Holman of Morristown; Thomas Moran of Randolph; and Mark Stein of Long Hill.

On top of that election, the most heated race all spring has been the fight to replace Joan Bramhall, Morris County Clerk, who announced her retirement earlier this year.

Candidates running for clerk are: Laurie Bogaard of Chester, an attorney; retiring Freeholder Ann Grossi of Parsippany, an attorney; Zbigniew Nowacki of Denville, a county treasury department employee; Michael Sanchelli of Jefferson, a township council member and county public works employee, and James Vigilante of Parsippany, a business owner and former councilman. The winner of the June 4 primary will face Democrat Terry O’Connor Redwine of Butler in November.

Bramhall recently announced her endorsement of Vigilante.

Polls are open in Washington Township from 6 a.m. to 8 p.m. Tuesday, June 4.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »